Media office contacts

The LGA's media office provides the national voice of local government in England and Wales on the major news issues of the day for national, regional and local press.


Our team offers a range of services to journalists including:

  • issuing press releases
  • providing briefings and reactive statements
  • arranging broadcast interviews and; 
  • offering local case studies.

We have spokespeople available to talk on a wide array of topics including adult social care, child protection, education, housing, environment, finance, transport and public health.

You can call the media office 24/7 on 020 7664 3333 (out-of-hours voicemail will detail the on-duty press officer), email on media.office@local.gov.uk or contact a member of the team directly using their details below.

You can also follow us on Twitter at @LGANews.


Lynne Morris (Head of News and Internal Communications)
Corporate
lynne.morris@local.gov.uk
020 7664 3282

Greg Burns (Deputy Head of News and Internal Communications)
Finance
greg.burns@local.gov.uk
020 7664 3184

Alan Harris (Senior Media Relations Officer)
Adult social care and public health
alan.harris@local.gov.uk
020 7664 3147

David Mills (Senior Media Relations Officer)
Children's services and education
david.mills@local.gov.uk
020 7664 3200

Ben Murphy (Senior Media Relations Officer)
Brexit, economy & skills and transport
Ben.murphy@local.gov.uk
020 7664 3157

Michael Tighe (Senior Media Relations Officer)
Housing, planning and environment
michael.tighe@local.gov.uk
020 7664 3359

James Alexandre (Media Services Officer)
Culture, tourism and sport
james.alexandre@local.gov.uk
020 7664 3244

Karen Thornton (Editor, first magazine)
karen.thornton@local.gov.uk
020 7664 3294